Cheers and Jeers

23 Oct

Every sunday night, or monday morning depending on my mood, I write the weekly Women’s Student Assembly Newsletter to send to our listserve. In every issue there is a section I like to call ‘Cheers and Jeers’ where I find a positive and negative event in women’s news worldwide. I probably spend half tihe time writing the newsletter looking for quality cheers and chees, and this past week I came across a cheer and a jeer that were both jaw-dopping:

Cheer: Jordan’s Queen Rania launched a $1 million project to fight violence against women. It aims to provide medical assistance and counseling to abused women and to raise public awareness. Eighty-seven percent of Jordanian women believe their husbands are justified in using physical or verbal abuse, according to a 2002 demographic and health survey.”What’s important now is that we’re moving from theory to action,” said Asma Khader, head of the Jordanian National Commission for Women. “The main obstacle is changing people’s perceptions. But this is exactly what is needed to confront this practice.”

HUGE Jeer: Megan Williams, 20, was held captive and tortured for a week inside a West Virginia mobile home. She was forced to eat animal waste, stabbed, choked, sexually assaulted and repeatedly slurred for her African American ethnicity. Her captors–who include a mother and son, a mother and daughter, and two other men–have been arrested; the federal government is considering whether they will be prosecuted for hate crimes.

I’m withholding my commentary because I don’t even know where to begin.In other less noteworthy news, I had a somewhat deep conversation today about what we find sexually/romantically attrative in people. I hadn’t thought about this in a while, but the most important things i ended up saying are nothing, nothing like the qualities in the people i deal with in, um, casual, random romantic episodes. In fact, they’re opposite. I don’t know what that means.If i were to spend time time and energy to a real relationship, they’d have to be worth it. Funny and passionate about something, anything and not complelty apathetic. I know that’s asking a lot ( …sad) so color me out of luck. At least for the time being.

Leave a Reply

