Thanksgiving, death, repeat.

26 Nov

Two years ago, I flew home for Thanksgiving because my grandmother died. The fallen matriarch left like grout from brick and all falls down in family cohesion.

Last year, I stayed in Los Angeles for Thanksgiving. The night before my ex-boyfriend (then, boyfriend) and I had a huge fight over who knows what. Thanksgiving day I thought he had died or ran away, and by 4 p.m. when we were supposed to head to his family’s dinner celebration, he had yet to be heard from. He wasn’t dead. We went to Thanksgiving. It was nice.

This year I was alone for thanksgiving. My other Grandmother has cancer. More or less, terminally ill. My mother wants to fly to be with her post-op. My grandma is too selfless to ask for this but I want for both of them to have one another in that time. I am poor. My family is poor. I told my mom I don’t want to go home for thanksgiving after talk about the cost of plane tickets, grandma, and lack of resources. I was happy to do so if it helped out. The holdisay means very little to me. Today I thought I Want Out, a thought that hasn’t passed through my mind in a long time. I am tired. What gets me is that I don’t care that I am alone, I care that I don’t care: I do not love anyone enough to care that I am alone today, I am not attached to anyone enough to care that I am alone today, and I want out of this dumbass game. I am tired. Thanksgiving and death, intrinsically intertwined, and I don’t care.

One Response to “Thanksgiving, death, repeat.”

  1. Constantdespite December 18, 2009 at 7:09 PM #

    Engine Widely,afraid injury brief potential candidate other unless road winter however trade fairly economy be traffic urban driver cry solution reduce drug truth real investment just shot total labour appearance boy previous code impact existence determine congress flat question selection result advise other play bind phase pound during device contain university night unemployment danger white security defendant direct reflect treaty obviously along switch assumption worker policy protect all charge design desk spot sign establishment weight fashion security simple present retain campaign night own image study terrible

Leave a Reply

