Origin Sift

16 Jun

-iatric

  • from Gk. iatrikos “healing,” from iatros “physician, healer” (related to iatreun “treat medically,” and iasthai “heal, treat”); of uncertain origin, perhaps from iaomai “to cure,” related to iaino “heat, warm, cheer,” probably from a root meaning “enliven, animate.”

I

  • 12c. shortening of O.E. ic, first person sing. nom. pronoun, from P.Gmc. *ekan (cf. O.Fris. ik, O.N. ek, Norw. eg, Dan. jeg, O.H.G. ih, Ger. ich, Goth. ik), from PIE *ego(m) (cf. Skt. aham, Hitt. uk, L. ego, Gk. ego, Rus. ja). Reduced to i by 1137 in northern England, it began to be capitalized mid-13c. to mark it as a distinct word and avoid misreading in handwritten manuscripts.
  • The reason for writing I is … the orthographic habit in the middle ages of using a ‘long i’ (that is, j or I) whenever the letter was isolated or formed the last letter of a group; the numeral ‘one’ was written j or I (and three iij, etc.), just as much as the pronoun. [Otto Jespersen, “Growth and Structure of the English Language,” p.233]

plasma

  • 1712, “form, shape” (earlier plasm, 1620), from L.L. plasma, from Gk. plasma “something molded or created,” from plassein “to mold,” originally “to spread thin,” from PIE *plath-yein, from base *pele- “flat, to spread” (see plane (1)). Sense of “liquid part of blood” is from 1845; that of “ionized gas” is 1928.

protoplasm

  • 1848, from Ger. Protoplasma (1846), used by Ger. botanist Hugo von Mohl (1805-72), from Gk. proto- “first” + plasma “something molded” (see plasma). The word was in L.L., meaning “first created thing,” and may have existed in ecclesiastical Gk. in a different sense. It was used 1839 by Czech physiologist Johannes Evangelista Purkinje (1787-1869) to denote the gelatinous fluid found in living tissue. This word prevailed, though Ger. language purists preferred Urschleim “original mucus.”

god

  • O.E. god “supreme being, deity,” from P.Gmc. *guthan (cf. Du. god, Ger. Gott, O.N. guð, Goth. guþ), from PIE *ghut- “that which is invoked” (cf. Skt. huta- “invoked,” an epithet of Indra), from root *gheu(e)- “to call, invoke.” But some trace it to PIE *ghu-to- “poured,” from root *gheu- “to pour, pour a libation” (source of Gk. khein “to pour,” khoane “funnel” and khymos “juice;” also in the phrase khute gaia “poured earth,” referring to a burial mound). “Given the Greek facts, the Germanic form may have referred in the first instance to the spirit immanent in a burial mound” [Watkins]. Cf. also Zeus. Not related to good. Originally neut. in Gmc., the gender shifted to masc. after the coming of Christianity. O.E. god was probably closer in sense to L. numen. A better word to translate deus might have been P.Gmc. *ansuz, but this was only used of the highest deities in the Gmc. religion, and not of foreign gods, and it was never used of the Christian God. It survives in English mainly in the personal names beginning in Os-.
  • I want my lawyer, my tailor, my servants, even my wife to believe in God, because it means that I shall be cheated and robbed and cuckolded less often. … If God did not exist, it would be necessary to invent him. [Voltaire]

vox

  • 1550, from L., lit. “voice” (see voice). Especially in vox populi (1550) “the voice of the people” (the full maxim is Vox populi vox Dei “the voice of the people is the voice of God”).
2 Responses to “Origin Sift”

  1. Image overlay ads Scam November 21, 2010 at 10:10 PM #

    Hello people! 🙂 I am pondering if an individual might assist me out! Really I wish to watch this specific web blog at my all new iPad, nonetheless it doesn’t display up appropriately, So I used to be thinking if another person can suggest me any optimum resolution? I don’t know but must I strive and come across out an replace for my software package program or anything at all else? I understand this is something kinda off the topic, but please replace me and thank you ahead of time for the support! Sophie 🙂

  2. Image overlay ads Review November 20, 2010 at 8:58 AM #

    Hi everybody! 🙂 I am wondering if somebody could enable me out! Truly I desire to look at this page at my personal absolutely new iPad, nonetheless it doesn’t display up properly, So I used to be asking yourself if another person can recommend me any optimal option? I do not know but must I attempt and come across out an update for my computer software system or anything at all else? I realize it is something kinda off the topic, but please replace me and thanks ahead of time for that help! Sophie 🙂

Leave a Reply

