Strange Awakening

24 Jun

Today, my consciousness began before I awoke. What strange dreams! I can recall a few dreams, but the last of the intermittent scenes strikes me as most peculiar. I was at a hotel conference, staring at a sign that advertised the next convention. This sign neither stated the purpose nor the discourse of the convention, only the location. I gained awareness that I was dreaming, and focused in on the sign. The sign spelled its message in perfect English, but somehow I knew the letters were scrambled. Within the string of cities was a hidden word, misspelled but purposefully so so it would remain hidden to viewers. At a glance the sign stated: Next Convention: Olympia & Vancouver.

My laser-like vision pulled the letters further apart, and I watched the hidden word shake and break free from its shackles, vibrating and thus, I imagine, simmering itself an ember red font. Eventually, the sign read: Next Convention: Olympia & Vanc[oracle]ver. For what felt like ten minutes, I tried to untangle the word oracle, and the letters, obedient as they are, flipped and switched until the sign read: Next Convention: Olympia & Vanc[oregon]uver.

Lightning struck and seized me from sleep. I sat upright erect, awake as day, and my right hand , knowing where it was going, bolted to press against my temporal lobe. With my hand fused to a point behind my right ear. My lips followed the lead of my hand, knowing what they wanted to say: “Temporal lobe seizure.”

Awake, intrigued, and hoping to catch the tail end of sun rise, I got up and began to research temporal lobe seizures. Synchronicity propelled me in this intuitive path, for the relevancy of all that I read tied into recent events and interests of mine. The spot I clutched is mapped in the following image, labeled ‘temporal lobe.’ This spot is what neuroscience has deemed ‘the God spot’, and such simple seizures are not all that uncommon. In fact, Lewis Carol, Fyodor Dostoevsky, and Edgar Allen Poe all experienced such seizures. It just so happens that I have been reading Poe and watched a documentary (which didn’t mention his seizures) on Poe a few days ago, and Dostoevsky has provided me with a wealth of meaningful philosophic perspectives in his works, since I discovered his works a few months ago.

The Following Link provides more information about Temporal Lobe Seizures:

Ellen White\’s Head Injury

Leave a Reply

