Independence Night

4 Jul

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

When the hypocrite becomes aware of their simultaneous truths and living contradictions, does the power vested in that knowledge position transform the hypocrite into an ingenuous being? Or is a hypocrite validated and realized just  alright with settling with a puff instead of a gust when blowing out the birthday candles?

I don’t enjoy staying drunk because I don’t remember what triggered me to ponder the above inquiry, just a few moments ago. Regardless, tonight was fun, and by an large, I tend to experience holidays are 90% hype, 10% fun. Tonight way good. And blowing explosives up aside, I am forever indebted to the people who are serving the country in the military during a time of war. The courage and selflessness is beyond my comprehension. These are my peers. We are one generation. They are there so I am here, feeling as free as I allow myself to feel. Thank you.

Once again, the greater Portland Metro Area flocked to Downtown Portland to watch the fireworks show show under the Morrison Bridge by the Willamette River, and then go out to the bars (or take the stroller ride through the fountains and back to the mini van in the Smart Park.) What a neat commonality a national holiday is: celebrating identity based on current location and identification with one country brings together all of the divided persons in the United States. No matter the age, and no matter the language, we the people watch the fireworks display and we the people enjoy the festivities: both in our individual ways, and together.

The Rose Festival and the Blues Festival, volunteering at the central library and hikes in the national parks nested inside city boundaries, have brought me my camera (and good company, shoutout) into Downtown Portland quite frequently this summer. The above photographs I have taken, so are a scent of the city of roses.

One Response to “Independence Night”

  1. PTZ IP Camera August 29, 2010 at 11:05 PM #

    Hi Guy, this good blogs, thanks

Leave a Reply

