The Butterfly

25 Oct

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

“The Butterfly”

The last, the very last,

So richly, brightly, dazzlingly yellow.

Perhaps if the sun’s tears would sing

against a white stone. . . .

Such, such a yellow

Is carried lightly ‘way up high.

It went away I’m sure because it wished to

kiss the world good-bye.

For seven weeks I’ve lived in here,

Penned up inside this ghetto.

But I have found what I love here.

The dandelions call to me

And the white chestnut branches in the court.

Only I never saw another butterfly.

That butterfly was the last one.

Butterflies don’t live in here,

in the ghetto.

– by Pavel Friedman

Pavel Friedmann was born in Prague on January 7, 1921. He was deported to Terezin on April 26, 1942 and later to Auschwitz, where he died on September 29, 1944.


4 Responses to “The Butterfly”

  1. Watch Family Guy December 19, 2010 at 2:19 PM #

    I am Glad i discovered this web site.Added alwaysburning.wordpress.com to my bookmark!

  2. Image overlay ads Scam November 21, 2010 at 10:10 PM #

    Hi fellas! 🙂 I am asking yourself if someone could support me out! Truly I need to look at this specific webblog with my personal completely new iPad, however it does not display up effectively, So I used to be questioning if someone can recommend me any optimal solution? I don’t know but really should I try and find out an replace for my computer software plan or anything else? I realize this is anything kinda off the subject, but please update me and many thanks in advance for the enable! Sophie 🙂

  3. Image overlay ads Review November 20, 2010 at 8:58 AM #

    Hi dudes! 🙂 I am questioning if an individual might help me out! Truly I need to watch this specific webblog with my new iPad, but it doesn’t present up accurately, So I was wondering if an individual can recommend me any optimal resolution? I do not know but should I attempt and discover out an replace for my software program program or something else? I understand it is a thing kinda off the subject, but please update me and thanks upfront for the aid! Sophie 🙂

  4. Image Overlay Ads November 15, 2010 at 4:09 AM #

    Hi! 🙂 Is it Okay if I ask something kinda off subject? I’m seeking to view this web page on my new iPad but it surely won’t present up properly, do you have any alternatives? Ought to I try and come across an update for my software or anything? Thanks in advance! Jennine x 🙂

Leave a Reply

